Warning, our website may not display or work properly on your browser.
We recommend that you update it if you can.

Update my browser
I don't want or I can't update my browser
BackBackMenuCloseClosePlusPlusSearchUluleUluleChatFacebookInstagramLinkedInTwitterYouTubefacebooktwitterB CorporationBcorp

First European Architecture Prize

  • Serial Ululer
  • Cinema Lover
  • Pioneer
  • Book Lover
  • Music Lover
  • Backer 500
  • Player
  • Fashionista
  • Writer
About the European Architecture Prize

In 2010, The European Centre for Architecture, Art, Design and Urban Studies will inaugurate the first “European Architecture Prize.”
The European Architecture Prize is to be given annually to any living architect whose built work exemplifies the highest ideals of European civilization and embodies vision, commitment, and a profound respect for humanity and for the social and physical environment.
The ancient Greeks considered architecture to be the “first art,” which is the literal meaning of the word and which gave birth to a profession.
Throughout the centuries, Europe has given the world its most important practitioners from Phidias, Vitriuvius, Michelangelo, da Vinci, and Palladio to the early modern masters, Le Corbusier, Mies van der Rohe, and Eliel and Eero Saarinen, Those architects have developed numerous philosophies and visionary approaches to building, engineering, and planning that have grown from the need to invent or express a time and place in Europe’s rich history.
Classicism, Byzantine, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Beaux-Arts, Constructivism, Art Deco, DeStijl, and Modernism have all resulted as an expression of clearly stated European values and ideals and have given form and shape to the most famous cities in the world.

The European Architecture Prize today continues Europe’s ongoing contribution to world history and culture and encourages our present generation of practitioners to embrace the true art of architecture together with its humanistic and social pursuits in order to make our European cities and nations true centers of advanced culture and civilization.

Nomination Process

Nominations are encouraged from all nations inside the European Union, as well as non EU states.

Nominations are invited from architects, writers, critics, academicians, government officials, architectural societies and associations, museums, developers, corporate executives, professionals in the building industry, and the general public at large—and any individual who has an interest in advancing great architecture.

The prize is awarded irrespectively of nationality, gender, race, creed, or ideology.

Candidates for the Prize are drawn from the professions of architecture, landscape architecture or urban planning who have profoundly impacted or influenced contemporary architecture philosophy and design ideas today.

Nominations are submitted to the Chairman of The European Centre for consideration by the jury of The European Architecture Prize.

Nominations are accepted through August 1 of each given year.

Nominations that do not result in the award are automatically carried over the following year. The jury takes deliberations early in the calendar year and the winning architect is announced early summer to the international press.

The Architect Laureate

The selected architect given The European Architecture Prize is honored each year in a ceremony in one of Europe’s prized landmarks thereby continuing Europe’s rich heritage and tradition in the history of architecture.

Over the years, each ceremony venue will become a virtual pan-European grand tour of Europe’s most important landmarks from over many centuries.

The ceremony venues are chosen by The European Centre each year before the Laureate is selected so there is no intended connection between the two.

A banquet honors the Laureate and is attended by dignitaries of European government, corporate business, museums and institutions, professional societies and associations, and international press.

An exhibition of the selected Laureate is organized for travel inside The European Union and to other international destinations as a public education component devised to educate the general public about the importance of great architecture and how significant architecture can positively impact European cities and urban/rural environments.

The exhibition also educates the general public about contemporary architecture as one of Europe’s most prominent cultural achievements.

Laureates will be invited to give public presentations, as well as to ocmment on important design, environmental and urban issues facing Europe today, and to visit the European public community at large as a cultural Ambassador.

A monograph accompanies the annual exhibition.

Europe 40 Under 40

In order to encourage the next generation of architectural practitioners, The European Centre will also announce the winning young architects selected for The European Centre’s annual "Europe 40 under 40" program just days after the official announcement of The European Prize.
“Europe 40 Under 40” is The European Centre’s annual awards program designed to celebrate the next new talented generation of European architects. The program is directed to support new and emerging design talent that will influence the near future of European architectural design, thinking, and theory with the direct result of impacting future
environments and future European and international cities. The key is to bring wider recognition to 40 of the most promising emerging architects working in the European Union and other countries inside Europe, fostering and encouraging new talent and new creative thinking at the forefront of the profession today.
Each year, young architects who are citizens of the 27 European Union nations and the member countries of Norway, Switzerland, Russia, Turkey, Liechtenstein, Albania, Monaco, Andorra, Serbia, Montenegro, Georgia, Bulgaria Bosnia-Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldavia, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Canary Islands, Faeroe Islands, San Marino, and Iceland are invited to participate.
A jury of distinguished international architects, critics, journalists, and educators review the submissions and select the 40 young architects based on their professional achievements and submitted designs.
In 2010, the jury took place in Madrid, Spain.
Together with the Architect Laureate, the 40 designated young architects also will be honored at the ceremony for The European Prize and are invited to the annual banquet.
The exhibition of “Europe 40 Under 40” will also accompany the exhibition of the Architect Laureate on its tour to European cities.

For more information:http://www.europeanarch.eu

Be the first to reply


    • 1


    • 1


    • 2,332